Teamfight Tactics gets a USD 125,000 tournament courtesy of Twitch Rivals

Posted on: Jul 05, 2019 By smartlaunch in News and trends,

Riot Games and Twitch have teamed up to launch the first Teamfight Tactics (TFT) tournament through Twitch Rivals.

The event, which takes place on July 17–18, will see 64 Twitch streamers battle it out over two days for a share of the USD 125,000.

The tournament kicks off on July 17 at 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST, as a group of 32 invited streamers compete to qualify for the finals. The second group of 32 compete at 13:45 PDT / 16:45 EDT / 21:45 BST to fill out the bracket. The top eight players from each group will move on to the finals on July 18, starting at 9:00 PDT / 12:00 EDT / 17:00 BST.

TFT is Riot Games’ take on the popular – and relatively recent – craze of Autobattler games. You’ll be able to queue up solo or with up to seven others and battle with your selection of popular League of Legends heroes. With items, champion synergies and PVE rounds, TFT is hard to grasp at first but is probably the easiest to learn of the current crop of Autobattler titles. TFT is currently in open beta and can be played by anyone on PC via the League of Legends client.

Startup an eSports center

Go